Lycoming College names Chieftan and awards at Honors Convocation

Lycoming College celebrated students’ academic achievements at its annual Honors Convocation, recognizing dozens for their dedication to academic pursuits.

Rebecca Forbes ’19, of Lititz and a Lycoming Scholar with a double major in economics and Spanish, and a minor in business administration, was awarded Lycoming College’s highest student honor with the 2019 Chieftan.

During her time at Lycoming College, Forbes’ energy and passion for education was difficult to overlook as she tackled study abroad and research opportunities, internships and leadership positions.

A number of other Lycoming College students attained high levels of academic achievement and scholarship, and they also received awards at Honors Convocation, local students include:

Carter Alexander, ’19, South Williamsport — Mathematical Science Award, The Charles J. Kocian Award, The W. F. Sadler Prize

Katlyn Michelle Bennett, ’19, Ulysses — Psi Chi Service Award.

Alyssa Marie Burger ’19, Montoursville — The Walter G. McIver Award.

Katelyn J. Derby, ’20, Picture Rocks — Dr. Will George Butler Choir Award

Michael Alan Dressler Jr., ’19, Northumberland — W. Arthur Faus Memorial Prize

Rachel Lynne Duda, ’19, Jersey Shore — Pennsylvania Institute of Certified Public Accountants Award; Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP Prize for Tax Accounting

Baleigh Luann Dunkleberger, ’19, Williamsport — Leadership Award in Education

Boone A. Jenkins, ’20, Williamsport — The Metzler Prize

Emilie Marie Kramer, ’19, Wellsboro — Biology Department Academic Excellence Award

Geoffrey Thomas Kist, ’19, Williamsport — Williamsport Rotary Club Endowed Prize

Dominic M. Loffredo, ’19, Linden — The Department Award in Media Research

Jacob Anthony Maneval, ’19, Williamsport — Richard L. Mix ’51 and Miriam S. Mix Research and Writing Prize in History, Robert Ewing Senior Prize in History

Paige Nicole Rockwell, ’19, McElhattan — American Chemical Society Outstanding Chemistry Major Award

Emily Kate Sampsell, ’20, Montgomery — The Emilia Pardo Baz’n Prize in Critical Writing

Riley M. Thomas, ’19, South Williamsport — Criminal Justice Society Prize.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)