Holiday essay contest

PHOTOS PROVIDED Cochran Primary School students Gabriel Frey, left, Juliahnna Williams and McKay Campbell were part of the 25 holiday contest winners. Not pictured was Ava Kirkpatrick. Hepburn-Lycoming Primary School students that got to go on a trolley ride tour for the Tour of Lights included Harrison Laurenson, left, Ella Brelsford, Isabelle Sharp, Layla Moyer, Logan Smith, Aubrey Mosier and Waylen Moore. Jackson Primary School essay contest recipients included Huntter Wolfe, front row left, Brody Herbst, Marlaynna Wilson, Lily Tupper, Autumn Wolfe, Isabelle Reeder; Jade Welshans, back row left, Chloe Slaughter, Hayden Smith, Lincoln Paulhamus and Lukas Shuback. Winners from Stevens Primary School include Emma Sweeting, left, Mekhi Gaston and Lily DeMarino.

What are you thankful for during the holiday season and why? Williamsport Area School District Education Foundation recently concluded its annual Holiday Essay Contest open to students in kindergarten through third grade.

From a pool of 81 entries, students answered what they are thankful for and why in 200 words or less, of which 25 winners were selected. The top 25 winners received a free ride on the trolley for an exclusive Holiday Tour of Lights.

This year’s winners are:

Hepburn-Lycoming Primary School

Layla Moyer, kindergarten.

Ella Brelsford, second grade.

Harrison Laurenson, second grade.

Aubrey Mosier, second grade.

Logan Smith, second grade.

Waylen Moore, third grade.

Isabelle Sharp, third grade.

Stevens Primary School

Emma Sweeting, kindergarten.

Lily DeMarino, second grade.

Mekhi Gaston, third grade.

Cochran Primary School

Gabriel Frey, first grade.

Ava Kirkpatrick, second grade.

McKay Campbell, second grade.

Juliahnna Williams, second grade.

Jackson Primary School

Isabella Reeder, kindergarten.

Chloe Slaughter, kindergarten.

Lily Tupper, first grade.

Marlaynna Wilson, first grade.

Autumn Wolfe, first grade.

Brody Herbst, second grade.

Huntter Wolfe, second grade.

Lincoln Paulhamus, third grade.

Lukas Shuback, third grade.

Hayden Smith, third grade.

Jade Welshans, third grade.

In addition to the trolley ride, two top essay winners were selected and received a $25 gift card to the AMC movie theater downtown. These two students are second-graders Campbell and Wolfe.

Following the trolley ride, this year’s winners also will enjoy an exclusive story time session with cookies and hot chocolate, provided and served by students from Williamsport Area High School’s culinary arts program, in the rotunda at the James V. Brown Library.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)