State System of Higher Education freezes tuition second year

The Board of Governors for the State’s System of Higher Education for the first time in its 38-year history froze basic in-state tuition for a second year.

Basic in-state tuition for undergraduate students at the system’s 14 universities — Bloomsburg, California, Cheyney, Clarion, East Stroudsburg, Edinboro, Indiana, Kutztown, Lock Haven, Mansfield, Millersville, Shippensburg, Slippery Rock and West Chester universities of Pennsylvania. — will remain at $7,716 for the 2020-21 academic year. Also remaining the same will be the system’s technology fee for students, which stands at $478 for the academic year.

“We are united in believing that even under these historic, extraordinary circumstances, the State System must maintain its affordability and not pass the burden of these times onto our students,” said Cindy Shapira, chair of the Board of Governors.

Prior to last year, only once did the Board approve a year-to-year tuition freeze.

The State System also approved a 10-year loan up to $6 million to Mansfield University, a measure that will support the institution with a path toward fiscal sustainability and accountability.

“This measure will help ensure the Northern Tier has the higher education and economic development resources it needs for the future,” Chancellor Dan Greenstein said.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today