County sheriff pay hikes OK’d

(EDITOR’S NOTE: Each Monday, the Sun-Gazette summarizes major votes of the past week and, more specifically, how our locally elected and appointed officials voted on each matter. Watch for it each Monday in the Sun-Gazette.)

From Staff Reports

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


• The Senate and House of Representatives did not vote this week.


• The Senate is in recess until March 20.

• The House of Representatives is in recess until March 13.


• The Lycoming County commissioners unanimously voted to increase the county sheriff’s pay for the next four years, at a rate of $67,469 for 2018 and 2019; $67,806 for 2020; and $69,162 for 2021. Voting yes were Commissioners Rick Mirabito, Tony Mussare and Jack McKernan.

• The Lycoming County commissioners unanimously approved an agreement with E.J. Rymsza, at $125 per hour, as a second attorney in the case of Jordan Rawls, one of two suspects in a double homicide case. Voting yes were McKernan, Mirabito and Mussare.


• Williamsport Sanitary Authority authorized an agreement with the state Department of Transportation for adjustments of 60 manhole covers on High Street for a repaving project in 2018. The department will reimburse the authority 75 percent of the cost for adjusting each manhole cover between Hepburn Street to the bridge on Lycoming Creek Road. Voting were William Nichols, Bill Ertel, chairman; Steven Cappelli, Johnny Meyer, Matt Rebuck, Thomas Marnon, George Bierman. Eiderson Dean, Gregory Zeitler and Cindi Perry Rischar were absent.

School District

• Montgomery Area School Board unanimously agreed to rebid for Phase 2 of its elementary and high school construction projects as recommended by Darin Rathbun, principal engineer, and Mike Jones, project manager, of Hunt Engineers, Architects, Land Surveyors and Landscape Architects P.C., due to original bids coming in at up to 67 percent higher than initially budgeted. The new base bid includes fewer cafeteria renovations but otherwise is similar to the initial bid. Voting were Dana Pick, Bonnie Taylor, Donna Deitrick, Tony Wright, Jon Desantis, Robyn Schreiber, Chris Johnson and Paul Stryker. Gary Yocum was absent.

• Williamsport Area School Board hired 24 high school and middle school coaches for spring sports such as soccer, tennis, track and field, softball and baseball. Voting were Lori Baer, Spencer Sweeting, Robin Knauth, Jennifer Lake, Jane Penman, Scott Williams, Nancy Story Somers and Patrick Dixon. Jerene Milliken was absent.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today