Supervisors decide on block grant projects

The Loyalsock Township Supervisors approved Community Development Block Grant projects and fund allocations Tuesday based on its expected $160,996 for 2019.

The supervisors previously considered moving 2015 block grant funds to complete projects and possibly implement a multitude of project ideas, ranging from continuing with curb cuts and the STEP Center for Healthy Aging to reconstructing township building doors to allow for complete Americans with Disabilities Act handicap accessibility.

The projects chosen for review at a future public hearing include those from a recommendation from Kristin McLaughlin, senior program analyst with SEDA-Council of Governments.

The plan McLaughlin proposed is to put $40,000 in the curb cut project, $101,446 towards the door removal and reconstruction for ADA accessibility and the remaining $19,550 to administration.

Township Manager Bill Burdet, the supervisors and McLaughlin decided to move the block grant money around to allow for more spending in areas that need it.

The decision was made to keep $40,000 in the curb cut project and cut the door project down to $41,446 with the remaining $60,000 going toward a township bathroom project still under construction.

The final $19,550 still goes toward administration.

In the fire report, Loyalsock Township Fire Chief Michael Minnier informed the board about a road closure on Warrensville Road starting Tuesday.

The road will be closed at Mosteller Road to Lick Run Road. There is no further information as to how long the road will be closed.

In other business, Shannon Lukowsky, recreation director, requested approval for new hires for after-school programs and a yoga instructor.

Brooke Collister, after-school program monitor, and Patricia Cozza, recreation center monitor and substitute, would receive the rate of $10.60 an hour and Wanda Hendershot, yoga instructor, would receive $25 per sign-up.

These positions were also approved unanimously by the board.

Members present: Paul D. Nyman, Virginia M. Eaton, Marc C. Sortman, John C. Bower, Richard H. Wheeland, Ryan M. Tira.

The next Loyalsock Township Supervisors meeting is scheduled for Aug. 27 at 7:30 p.m. at the township building on East Third Street.