Montgomery mayor undecided; Loyalsock’s Nyman, Bower hold onto current seats

The mayoral race in Montgomery appears to be undecided until write-in votes can be tallied, according to unofficial election results, which show Sean Leet receiving 91 votes while a write-in candidate received 166. In Loyalsock Township, however, incumbent supervisors Paul Nyman and John Bower will remain in council after receiving a majority of the votes for the six-year term.

Nyman received 2,353 votes and Bower received 1,821 votes while their opponents Jon Phillips and Kaleb Daniels received 728 votes and 535 votes, respectively, according to the unofficial count.

In Montgomery Borough Council’s competitive race for the three four-year term seats, Clayton Steward Sr. lead with 172 votes, followed by Rocky Sanguedolce with 156 votes and Laurel K. Green with 144 votes.

Also in the race, Ed E. Alexander narrowly missed that third seat with 142 votes while three write-ins shared 55 votes between them, according to the unofficial tally.

In Montoursville, Eric Greenway took the four-year seat representing the First Ward with 318 votes, while write-in candidates went uncontested in both the Second and Third wards, according to the unofficial count.

South Williamsport borough’s race to represent First Ward led with Robert Cronin, receiving 206 votes, followed by 185 votes for a write-in. Hilarie S. German followed with 132 votes.

Filling two chairs to represent the Second Ward, Joseph LaRue Jr. received 322 votes alongside Larry Baker who received 249 votes.

David Geise won in South Williamsport’s Third Ward for the four-year term and Henry Frey Jr., won in the Third Ward for the two-year term.

In the race for four seats on Muncy Borough Council, Scott E. Delany led with 346 votes followed by Thaddeus Martin with 331 votes, Linda Stein with 324 votes and Richard “Buzz” Baker with 298 votes.

Jeffrey Siverling came in fifth with 192 votes, missing out on one of the four seats, according to the unofficial vote.

In the race for the four-year term with DuBoistown Borough Council, Dori Rankinen led with 247 votes, followed by Jeff Kreger with 227 votes and Shawn Millard with 174 votes.

Paul McKinley landed the two-year seat on DuBoistown Borough Council with 234 votes against a write-in with 66 votes.

In Hughesville’s First Ward, Todd McCowan won with 166 votes for the four-year seat on borough council and, in the Second Ward, Daniel Cale came in above Jerry Daugherty with 169 votes, according to the unofficial count.

In Jersey Shore Borough, Matthew J. Hagg, Janet Barnhart and Scott A. Bierly as well as Sean M. Simcox took the four-year terms on council.

In non-competitive races, Jack Coleman won the six-year term as Woodward Township supervisor with 350 votes; Gary L. Harmon Jr. won the six-year term as Muncy Township supervisor with 263 votes; and Linda D. Mazzulo won the six-year term for Old Lycoming Township with 1,139 votes, according to the unofficial tally.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)