Judges, commissioners, municipal officers sworn in

KAREN VIBERT-KENNEDY/Sun-Gazette Judge Eric Linhardt, left, swears in Lycoming County electede officials at Friday's Inaugural Ceremony at the Community Arts Center in Williamsport.

Recently elected and appointed Lycoming County officials, along with a number of borough and township officials, were sworn into office Friday morning during a formal inaugural ceremony at the Community Arts Center.

People raising their hands to take the oath of office included court of common pleas judges, county commissioners and those assuming other county offices.

Former Lycoming College Dean Dr. John Piper Jr., who served as keynote speaker, congratulated all the officials and reminded them of the opportunities that now await them.

“Today, a torch is passed to new hands,” he said.

Piper recognized the importance of the U.S. Constitution, taking special note of the preamble and calling attention to the words “promote the general welfare.”

Former President Theodore Roosevelt was among U.S. leaders concerned for the general welfare of the people when he called for the food safety laws during his administration.

Later, Piper had everyone in the room stand and cite the preamble.

Lycoming County President Judge Nancy L. Butts gave the oath of office to Judges Marc. F. Lovecchio, Joy Reynolds and Ryan Tira.

Lovecchio and Reynolds were first elected to office in 2010 and Tira in 2019.

Also sworn in was Aaron Biichle, who assumes the office of district judge 29-1-02, formerly held by Allen Page.

Lycoming County Senior Judge Richard A. Gray administered the oath of office to newly elected commissioner Scott Metzger as well as incumbent commissioners Rick Mirabito and Tony Mussare.

Sworn into office by Lovecchio were county row officers.

They were newly elected officials Cindy S. Newcomer, treasurer; Thomas D. Heap, prothonotary; Ryan C. Gardner, district attorney; and David Huffman, register and recorder, as well as incumbents Krista Rogers, county controller, and Charles E. Kiessling Jr., coroner.

Also taking the oath of office were the following appointed officials: Matthew A. McDermott, chief clerk; J. David Smith, county solicitor; Nicki Brelsford, deputy controller; Heather Lehman, second deputy controller; Carol Johnson, first deputy treasurer; Penelope J. Cummings, second deputy treasurer; Kathy Probst, deputy prothonotary; Kevin Williams, deputy clerk of courts; Martin Wade, first assistant district attorney; Joseph Ruby, assistant district attorney; Lee Fry, assistant district attorney; Devin Walker, assistant district attorney; Kirsten Gardner, assistant district attorney; Jerold Ross, chief deputy coroner; Kimber Smith, deputy register of wills; and Ashley Harman, deputy recorder of deeds.

Ken Sawyer served as master of ceremonies.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)