Planning commission chairman re-elected

The Lycoming County Planning Commission re-elected Carl Nolan as board chair during its regular monthly meeting Thursday.

Nolan, of South Williamsport, is serving his second term on the board.

His term expires in December.

Joe Reighard was elected vice chair and Brett Taylor was re-elected as secretary.

Reighard’s term expires in 2022. Taylor’s term ends in 2023.

In other matters, the possibility of raising zoning permit fees was discussed.

Planning Commission Executive Director Shannon Rossman noted the fees have remained the same since 2009.

The fees are used to cover costs including staff time, site visits to properties and advertising.

Also at the meeting, Rossman stressed the need for county residents to participate in the 2020 U.S. Census.

Counties lose federal dollars for each resident who is not counted in the Census, which is conducted every 10 years.

Those dollars are allocated toward housing, transportation, education and various programs.

She noted that personal information taken by the Census is not shared with other people.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today