School district receives welding equipment donation

JERSEY SHORE — Pennsylvania College of Technology donated about $6,000 worth of welding equipment to the Jersey Shore Area School District for its CTE Manufacturing program at the high school, announced by Dr. Ken Dady, assistant superintendent, at the district’s board meeting recently.

A vote on accepting the donation will be taken at the March 9 board meeting.

“There are things here we wouldn’t have to buy later…that saves us money in the long run,” Dady said about the donation.

The board approved a donation of 12 Hess Trucks and downloadable curriculum via a Hess Truck Stem grant for the Jersey Shore Area Elementary School STEAM/STEM lab, as well as a donation of 97 books for the school’s library from Marc and Angela Waldman.

Under personnel items, the board approved:

• The resignation of Kathryn Zell, part-time food service worker.

• A letter of retirement from Jennie Welsh, Middle School math teacher.

• Hiring Jeffrey Dugan, Joseph Fisher, Stephanie Gilyad, Raymond Harmer, Matthew Horn, Eileen Hughes, Francis Kitchen, Devin Page and David Walk as bus drivers with Susquehanna Transit.

• Hiring Amy Brooks, Paul Chapman, Patricia Clossen, Danielle Colvin, Lorie Eckenroad, Debbie Herman, Deborah Heydrich, Rachel Heydrich, Amber Hughes, Mark Kinley, Joesph Masker, Deborah Rosamilia, Marlin Russell and Tammy Seasholtz as bus aides with Susquehanna Transit.

• Hiring Danan Schenck as a volunteer track and field coach.

• Hiring Terry Karichner Jr. and Colten Corter as volunteer coaches for baseball.

• The appointments of Jennifer Mellinger and Karen Wells as fulltime special education paraprofessionals at Jersey Shore Area Elementary at a salary of $16,684 each.

The board awarded 2019-20 bus contracts to Susquehanna Transit Company and to Mardens Inc.

Prior to the business portion of the meeting, the board, responding to a call to hold another vote on reorganizing, elected a president, vice president and assistant board secretary.

Elected were: Craig Allen, president; Mary Thomas, vice-president and Angela Grant, assistant secretary. The board had reorganized during its December meeting, but as there were only eight members at that time and the vote for president resulted in a tie, the rules applied that if there was a tie, there would be no change, so Allen continued as president.

The issue had been brought up at several meetings by a citizen in the district.

Members present were: Grant, Thomas, Allen, Patrice Doebler, Harry Brungard, David Becker, Nancy Petrosky, Michelle Stemmler and Wayne Kinley.

The next meeting will be at 7 p.m., March 9 at the Administration Building, 175 A & P Drive.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)