Williamsport schools to split cost of SRO with city

The Williamsport Area School Board approved an agreement with the City of Williamsport and the Williamsport Bureau of Police to provide School Resource Officer coverage during the current school year.

According to the agreement approved at the board meeting Tuesday, the district will pay half the salary and benefits for the cost of the resource officers for the days they are assigned to the district.

Under personnel, the board approved the resignations of Dawn M. Gorsline and Carmen L. Spurr, for retirement and Sandra L. Bodle, for personal reasons.

The board approved the following staff hirings:

• Olivia R. Pierce, after school tutor at a rate of $31.20 per hour.

• High school musical workers, Kent C. Weaver at $3,200 and Samuel Robinson at $3,040.

• Karen A. Henry and Quinn R. Webb, substitute custodians and/ or event staff at $9.00 or $10.00 per hour.

• Madison H. Sibley, non-certified substitute teacher at $90 per day for the first 45 days and $110 per day after that.

• Lauren L. Caputo and Caressa L. Walk, substitute teachers at $120 per day for the first 45 days and $130 per day after that.

• Sarah E. J. Rhone, substitute administrative support/aide at $9.00 per day.

The following high school spring sports coaches were approved:

• Baseball: Joel A. Worthington, varsity assistant at $2,800, Tariq C. Moore, varsity assistant at $2,660 and Jeremy E. Reidy, volunteer.

• Boys’ track and field: Jason M. LaForme, assistant at $3,040 and volunteers, Justin D. Hoffman and Seth H. Decker.

Other actions taken by the board included adopting guiding principles for the district-wide facility study. The principles will be used when making decisions based on the findings of the facility study.

The board adopted the district policy governing student expression/distribution and posting of materials on second reading and the first reading of a policy concerning health examinations and screenings.

A change in the 2019-20 tuition agreement between the district and the New Story School was given the okay by the board. The school provided two students with special education requirements all related services at a rate of $270 per day.

The donation of two

vehicles from River Valley Transit was approved by the board.

The vehicles will be used in the Automotive Technology Program.

Board members present were: Lori Baer, Jane Penman, Patrick Dixon, Jennifer Lake, Star Poole, Barbara Reeves, Marc Schefsky, Nancy Story Somers and Adam Welteroth.

The next board meeting will be at 6 p.m. March 3, at Lycoming Valley Intermediate School, 1825 Hayes Lane.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)