WASD to offer summer courses for credit recovery

The opportunity to take courses this summer for credit recovery and acceleration will be offered at no cost to students attending Williamsport Area High School this fall following approval by the school board. All costs and fees will be paid by Elementary and Secondary School Relief (ESSER) II funds.

The following courses will be offered:

• For .5 credit, credit recovery and acceleration: physical education and career pathways, June 14-July 2 and health education, July 12-30.

• For 1.0 credit, credit recovery and acceleration: civics and government, world history, algebra I, algebra II, trigonometry, statistics and career math.

• For 1.0 credit, credit recovery only: intro to lit/comp I, intro to lit/ comp II, American literature, English 12, geometry, biology I, US history, global studies and chemistry.

• For 1.0 credit, acceleration only: algebra II honors, geometry honors and pre-calculus/trig honors.

According to a spokesperson for the Williamsport Area School District, the courses will also be available through the summer to some incoming freshmen this fall. Teachers and students will use the district’s learning management system Schoology for these courses.

Although this program is specifically for students at the high school level, in response to a question from a parent during the public comment portion of the meeting, Dr. Timothy S. Bowers, district superintendent shared that the district is building a program for the lower grades.

“We are really taking a K-12 comprehensive approach to battling credit recovery,” Bowers said. He added that because of COVID which resulted in the shutdown of schools last year, children across the country have experienced learning losses.

In other actions, the board appointed Fred A. Holland of Murphy, Butterfield & Holland, P.C. as district solicitor for the upcoming fiscal year,at a retainer of $20,000 and $160 per hour for matters that fall outside of the scope of the retainer. This is an increase of $10 over the 2020-21 fiscal year.

Under personnel, the board accepted the resignations of Terrie M. Campana, kindergarten teacher at Hepburn-Lycoming Primary, David L. Gingery and Amber R. Whited, tax examiners and Julie Miller, long-term substitute teacher at Cochran Primary.

They approved hiring: Julia E. Kepler, special education teacher at salary of $51,500; Jacklyn M. Anderson, part-time aide at $14.97 per hour; Cheryl A. Keeler, Lukas J. Seyler and Jacqueline M. Strosser as part-time food service workers at $12.83 per hour; Jacob T. Anderson as after school tutor and credit recovery for middle school students at $31.20 per hour; Hamyre E. Cannon, substitute administrative support/aide at $9.00 per hour; Jaime L. Reed, substitute custodian and/or event staff at $9.00 and/or $10.00 per hour and Brynlin G. Carey as a non-certified substitute teacher at $90.00 per day for the first 45 days and $110 per day after that.

Spring sports coaches approved by the board were:

• Girls track and field: Hamyre E. Cannon, volunteer.

• Boys track and field: Nyric L. Gosley, assistant coach, $2,560.

• Boys Middle School Soccer: Avery B. Shultz, head coach, $1,920.

The board approved the district’s participation in the Cooperative Purchasing program of the Keystone Purchasing Network for athletic supplies to be used at the middle and high schools totaling $6,352 and for custodial supplies to replenish warehouse stock, totaling $25,498.

A software service agreement with Sourcewell Technology for Spring Math student software licenses at a cost of $3,150 was approved. Sourcewell Technology was also approved to provide virtual Spring Math professional development for the third grade staff at a cost of $795.

The board approved a letter of agreement with Community Services Group to ensure continuity of care for students receiving mental health service through the agency. The agreement runs through March 2023.

A letter of agreement with Merakey which expires in March 2026 was approved. The agreement provides for continuity of care for student receiving mental health service through the agency.

At the end of the meeting board member Nancy Story Somers submitted her resignation.

Board members present were: Somers, Jane Penman, Barbara Reeves, Marc Shefsky, Jennifer Lake, Lori Baer, Pat Dixon, Adam Welteroth and Star Poole.

The next meeting will be at 6 p.m. April 6.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today