South Side fills vacant board position

The South Williamsport School Board voted to place Micah Labarre to its vacant region I position on the board.

Labarre will fill the seat until the end of the year, when the position will then be given to the winner of the November election.

“Just three years ago I walked the halls of this school,” Labarre said. “It would allow me to bring an interesting perspective.”

Todd Engle, Steve Rupert, Diane Cramer, Bachman, Bowman and Steve Shope all voted to approve the appointment. Nathan Miller and Nicholas Fiorini were not present and could not vote.

The school board also approved an agreement with Community Services Group for it to provide students with access to mental health assessments, therapy and telepsychiatry services.

Students older than 14 years of age can consent to the confidential sessions on their own. Otherwise, parents must consent to the services as well, and may occur from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. throughout the day.

In other news, the board approved:

•The 2021-2022 teacher mentor interim program

•Catchy Bachman to replace Nathan Miller as the school board representative to BLaST IU17

•Jared Whitford as 2021-2022 drama director with stipends for the fall play and spring musical

•Johanna Hazel for a position in high school food service

•Michael Gonzalez as the assistant boys soccer coach, Pat McCormick as the junior varsity boys basketball coach, Dean Kriebel as the seventh grade boys basketball coach, and Dawn Storms as the volunteer junior high cross-country assistant coach

•Erick Fortin as a game worker and Matt Bradley and Manny Tsikitas as game managers for the 2021 fall season

•Amanda Crum as a certified substitute and Megan Apker, Wendy Bennett, James Duffy, Michelle Kemnitz and Alicia Robey as classified/hourly substitutes

•The following people to the list of guest teachers as submitted by BLaST IU 17 for the 2021-2022 school year: Suzanne Bastian, Robert Billman, Robin Borick, Dominick Bragalone, Barbara Calaman, Gretchen Carpenter, Benjamin Comfort, Jonathan Correll, John Driscoll III, Vicki Eberhart, Kathy Eggerton, Divia Feinstein, Valerie Foley (Closs), Heather Giaudrone, Elizabeth Haldeman, Ryan Helminiak, Cammy Hemenway (Stevens), Randy Holmes, Lynne Hopkins-Alvarez, Caleb Huff-Love, Wendy Hunter, Christopher Kuriga, Laurie Long, Chelsea Miller, Melissa Mitteer-Bradley, Heidi Mnkandhla, Kendra Pardoe, Bryan Patel, Fillin Peace, Christy Phillips, Amanda Pollari, Abagail Ransom, Brenna Segraves (Baysore), Mary Sumpter and Brian Vanvestraut

•The transfer of $489,044 in savings from the refinanced 2014 bond to the capital reserve fund for the 2020-2021 year

•The 2021-2022 South Williamsport School District bus transportation schedule.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today