Local roundup: 6 earn honors for Lyco men’s soccer team

Surged on by a second-place finish in the MAC Commonwealth, the Lycoming College men’s soccer team has also tied the program’s high-water mark with six All-MAC Commonwealth selections.

Junior Jared Moses earned his second first-team All-MAC Commonwealth midfielder honors to highlight the team, while sophomore forward Kalu Ume, senior midfielder Tanner Fonjweng, senior defender Nick Thornton and freshman defender Brayden Wise were all second-team picks. Sophomore Colin Wieand picked up honorable mention honors as a defender for his second selection to the team.

• Penn College landed seven players on the All-North Eastern Athletic Conference women’s soccer team. The Wildcats tied its program record with the seven selections, and along with Penn State Berks, had the most all-conference players in the conference.

“This number of all-conference selections exceeded my expectations,” admitted Penn College coach Christa Matlack. “I’m very proud of each of them and it is great see their hard work and contributions to this season being recognized.”

Junior Dominique Brown was named to the first team, seniors Tiffany Brown and Francesca Timpone, and junior Taylor Gonzales were named to the second team, and junior Abby Williams, sophomore Kaelan Cronan, and freshman Sloane Tressler, a Central Mountain grad, earned third team honors.

Senior Ali Russo, a four-year starter as a defensive midfielder and outside back for Bucknell, earned a spot on the Academic All-Patriot League team.

Russo is a two-year team captain who never came off the field this season. She played in all 78 of Bucknell’s games over the last four seasons, and she played in every minute of every game in 2019.

• Kayla Brathwaite, Joaquina Orlandini and Jazmin Palma of the Lock Haven University field hockey were named to the 2019 Atlantic 10 Conference first team.

Palma was also named the Atlantic 10 Rookie of the Year and she also earned a spot on the A-10’s All-Rookie Team alongside teammate Amy Stevens.

Standouts MacKenzie Farley and Emily Robb were both named to the All-Academic team.

Brittany Ryan was named First-Team All-PSAC goalkeeper and coach Brittany Hansrote was named PSAC Coach of the Year to lead a group of five Mansfield players to be selected to the all-conference team.

Forward Dana Evans and defender Madison Wilinsky were named to the second team and forward Larissa Motts and midfielder Meghan Griffin were named to the third team, marking the most all-conference selections by the Mounties since also earning five in 2012.