COVID-19 forces District 4 football all-star game to get canceled

The annual District 4 football all-star game between squads from the North and South was officially canceled Wednesday, the District 4 Football Coaches Association announced via their Facebook page.

The game was originally scheduled for June 19 in South Williamsport. This is believed to be the first time the annual all-star game has ever been canceled.

Plenty of area players were scheduled to play for both the North and South teams according to the projected rosters the organization released.

Six Jersey Shore players were slated to suit up. They include Tanner Lorson, Stanton Westlin, Anthony Shaffer, Dawson Sechrist, Brett Guthrie and Ryan Kershner.

Lorson, Westlin and Sechrist were all Class AAAA all-state selections this past fall with the Bulldogs. Lorson was also the Class AAAA Player of the Year.

Lorson had a tremendous senior campaign last year, setting district records in yards (4,688) and passing touchdowns (57). He also broke 11 school records in the process and was just the second player in District 4 history to go over 3,000 passing yards and the first to top both 2,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards.

Canton’s Uriah Bailie, Garrett Storch, Carson Stiner and Keegan Nelson were set to play for the North. Cowanesque Valley had a trio that were going to play in Kole Hurler, Seth Huyler and Owen Fitzgerald. Bucktail’s Liam Dwyer was also scheduled to play for the North.

Montoursville had the most area selections with an impressive eight in Will Carson, Travis Johnson, Jacob Stoner, Hunter Shearer, Jacob Reeder, Ryan Keen, Ian Plankenhorn and Jaxon Dalena.

Loyalsock’s Malaki Parlante, Aiden Gair, Rees Watkins, Dane Armson, Simone Mileto and Nolin Damiano were going to play. 

Montgomery’s Steven Prince, Alex Hans and Kade Showers were on the North’s roster, as were Muncy’s Christian Good, Dakota Haueisen and Cael Hembury.

South Williamsport had six players that were going to play in Luke Winner, Dakota Hill, Austin Nash, Kyle Whipple, Ethan Fields and Caleb Nelson.

Williamsport also had six players on the North team with Brock Moyer, Drake Mankey, Ian Welshans, Edward Jefferson, Jonathan Cramer and Ethan Williamson earning honors.

Another area team with six selections was Wellsboro: Aidan Hauser, Silas Wagaman, Logan Henry, Alex Burrell, Keegan Clemens and Tyler Hancock.

Warrior Run had the second-most selections on the South roster behind only Mount Carmel (11). The Defenders had seven picks in Remington Corderman, Riley Daubert, Kenny Newman, Ahmahd Keyes, Jack Welliver, Denver Beachel and Pete Reasner.

Milton’s Owen Kesister and Brent Mitch were set to play for the South, as was Hughesville’s Ethan Snyder.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)