HAC girls soccer all-stars: Lewisburg’s Malone named all-state at defender

SUN-GAZETTE FILE PHOTO Lewisburg’s Elena Malone (21), shown playing against Montoursville in 2020, earned all-state honors as a defender.

Lewisburg’s Elena Malone was the only area girls player to earn all-state honors in girls soccer from the Heartland Athletic Conference all-star team as a defender. Malone was one of numerous area athletes to receive HAC accolades.

Also named to the all-state team were Southern Columbia forward Loren Gehret and Mifflinburg midfielder Peyton Yocum.

Lewisburg’s Malone, Sophie Kilbride (forward); Jersey Shore’s Devon Walker (midfield); and Montoursville’s Natalie Reeder (defender) and Lily Saul (forward) were named to the HAC-I first team.

On the second team were Williamsport’s Adelia Engel (goalie), Mallory Pardoe (midfield) and Kailee Helmrich (Williamsport); Jersey Shore’s Aliyah Neece (forward) and Averi Maihle (defender); Montoursville’s Madison Moll (midfield); and Lewisburg’s Madison Cardello (defender).

Central Mountain’s Madison Briggs and Mia Kopysciansky; Jersey Shore’s Sarah Pecchia and Gracie Welshans; Lewisburg’s Caroline Blakeslee and Maria Bozella; Montoursville’s Lydia Earnest and Payton Bragalone; and Williamsport’s Miah Jones and Matison Cramer garnered honorable mention HAC-I honors.

Milton goalie Mo Reiner was one of five Black Panthers to be named to the HAC-II first team. She was joined by teammates Riley Murray (defender), Leah Walter (midfield), Janae Bergey (forward) and Mackenzie Lopez (forward). Hughesville’s Sophia Clark (midfield) was a first-team selection, as was Warrior Run’s Lindsey Trapani (defender) and Loyalsock’s Kathryn Schluter (defender).

Loyalsock’s Rylie French (goalie); Warrior Run’s Kiley Bohart (defender), Leah Grow (midfield), Maggie Sheets (midfield), Amara Bieber (forward) and Raygan Lust (forward); Hughesville’s Libby Fortin (forward); and Milton’s Alexis Beaver (midfield) were all named to the second-team.

Earning honorable mention accolades include Hughesville’s Sarah Gardner and Hailey Poust; Loyalsock’s Rhandie Jessell and Emma Strickland; Milton’s Lily Batman and Ryen Roush; and Warrior Run’s Addison Ohnmeiss and Madelyn Ross.

ALL-STATE: Southern Columbia forward Loren Gehret, Mifflinburg midfielder Peyton Yocum and Lewisburg defender Elena Yocum.


HAC-I COACH OF THE YEAR: Erich Hankamer, Mifflinburg

Kristi Benfield, Mifflinburg, goalie; Cassie Ronk, Shikellamy, goalie; Elena Malone, Lewisburg, defender; Grace Weber, Mifflinbug, defender; Natalie Reeder, Montoursville, defender; Selinsgrove’s Cierra Adams, defender; Shamokin’s Sarah Hoover, defender; Shikellamy’s Taylor Sees, defender

Jersey Shore’s Devon Walker, midfielder; Midd-West’s Lily Shutt, midfielder; Mifflinburg’s Emily Walls, midfielder; Mifflinburg’s Peyton Yocum, midfielder; Selinsgrove’s Ella Magee, midfielder; Shikellamy’s Wiley Egan, midfielder

Lewisburg’s Sophie Kilbride, forward; Midd-West’s Rachel Keister, forward; Mifflinburg’s Sarah Fritz, forward; Montoursville’s Lily Saul, forward; Shamokin’s Sadie Komara, forward; Shikellamy’s Averi Dodge, forward


Madison Lippay, Shamokin, goalie; Adelia Engel, Williamsport, goalie; Jersey Shore’s Averi Maihle, defender; Lewisburg’s Madison Cardello, defender; Midd-West’s Emma Martin, defender; Selinsgrove’s Gianna Gamble, defender; Shikellamy’s Rorey Egan, defender; Williamsport’s Elizabeth Shultz, defender.

Midd-West’s Chloe Sauer, midfielder; Montoursville’s Madison Moll, midfielder; Selinsrove’s Erin Mullen, midfielder; Shamokin’s Madyson Waugh, midfielder; Shikellamy’s Paige Fausey, midfielder; Williamsport’s Mallory Pardoe, midfielder

Jersey Shore’s Aliyah Neece, forward; Mifflinburg’s Taylor Beachy, forward; Selinsgrove’s Tyeana Barge, forward; Shamokin’s Carly Nye, forward; Shikellamy’s Sophia Feathers, forward; Williamsport’s Kailee Helmrich, forward



Central Mountain’s Madison Briggs, Mia Kopysciansky; Jersey Shore’s Sara Pecchia, Gracie Welshans; Lewisburg’s Caroline Blakeslee, Maria Bozella; Midd-West’s Becca Yount, Rylee Weaver; Mifflinburg’s Avery Metzger, Ella Shuck; Montoursville’s Peyton Bragalone, Lydia Earnest; Selinsrove’s Abby Parise, Veronica Stanford; Shamokin’s Ally Waugh, Kennedy Petrovich; Shikellamy’s McKenna Zellers, Blaire Balestrini; Williamsport’s Miah Jones, Matison Cramer.


HAC-II COACH OF THE YEAR: Ryan Polly, Central Columbia

Bloomsburg’s Alyssa Shuman, goalie; Milton’s Mo Reiner, goalie; Bloomsburg’s Lauren Boyer, defender; Central Columbia’s Sydney Hunsinger, defender; Loyalsock’s Kathryn Schluter, defender; Milton’s Riley Murray, defender; Southern’s Riley Reed, defender; Warrior Run’s Lindsey Trapani, defender

Bloomsburg’s Madeline Evans, midfielder; Central Columbia’s Lindsey Bull, midfielder; Hughesville’s Sophia Clark, midfielder; Milton’s Leah Walter, midfielder; Southern’s Evelyn Cook, midfielder; Southern’s Summer Tillett, midfielder

Central Columbia’s Haley Bull, forward; Milton’s Janae Bergey, forward; Milton’s Mackenzie Lopez, forward; Mount Carmel’s Mia Chapman, forward; Southern’s Cassidy Savtisky, forward; Southern’s Loren Gehret, forward


Central Columbia’s Karsyn Cox, goalie; Loyalsock’s Rylie French, goalie; Bloomsburg’s Rachel Williams, defender; Central Columbia’s Norah Barry, defender; Mount Carmel’s Haley Sypniewski, defender; Mount Carmel’s Leah Shedleski, defender; Southern’s Emma Genners, defender; Warrior RUn’s Kiley Bohart, defender

Central Columbia’s Madelyn Blake, midfielder; Central Columbia’s Madison Whitesell, midfielder; Danville’s Kara Thompson, midfielder; Milton’s Alexis Beaver, midfielder; Warrior RUn’s Leah Grow, midfielder; Warrior Run’s Maggie Sheets, midfielder

Bloomsburg’s Brynna Zentner, forward; Bloomsburg’s Teagan Serrano, forward; Hughesville’s Libby Fortin, forward; Southern’s Sophia Shadle, forward; Warrior RUn’s Amara Bieber, forward; Warrior Run’s Raygan Lust, forward



Bloomsburg’s Ava Billmeyer, Camden Wasielewski; Central Columbia’s Paige Flaugh, Mary Grace Duncan; Danville’s Maddy Sauers, Jill Nied; Hughesville’s Sarah Gardner, Hailey Poust; Loyalsock’s Rhandie Jessell, Emma Strickland; Milton’s Lily Batman, Ryen Roush; Mount Carmel’s Rachel Witkoski, Gabby McGinley; Southern’s Colby Bernhard, Marlee Swank; Warrior Run’s Addison Ohnmeiss, Madelyn Ross.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today