Montoursville major baseball eliminates Hepburn Lycoming in districts

Montoursville defeated Hepburn Lycoming, 6-2, to advance in the losers’ bracket of the District 12 major baseball tournament on Friday night. The loss eliminates Hepburn Lycoming from the tournament.

With the win, Montoursville will host GSV on Tuesday in an elimination game.

The two teams were scoreless through two innings before Montoursville scored twice in the bottom of the second to take the lead. In the fourth inning, Bryce Parker led off with a single and Emerson Lehman walked, setting up Noah Clayton’s sacrifice bunt, which was thrown away at first allowing two Montour runs and Clayton on second. Elijah Eck then singled Clayton to third and he scored on Cole Weaver’s groundout.

In the top of the fifth, Hepburn Lycoming scored via a walk, hit batter, fielders choice, another hit batter and Nick Dincher’s two-RBI single. Montour finished out the scoring, in the bottom of the fifth as Branson Fogleman singled, moved to second on a wild pitch, moved to third on a fly out to right and scored on Brent Crawford’s ground out.

Hepburn Lycoming was limited to just two hits: a single by both James Naughton (1 for 3, walk, run) and Nick Dincher (1 for 2, walk, two RBIs).

Montoursville was led by Elijah Eck, who went 2 for 2 with a double, walk and run, and Cy Heddings, who went 2 for 3 with a double, RBI and run scored. Bryce Parker also had two hits. Branson Fogelman went 1 for 3.

Heddings and Eck combined on a two-hitter and struck out 10.

In an elimination game in the 9-11 District 12 baseball tournament, East Lycoming advanced with an 11-7 win against Montoursville/Muncy. With the win, East Lycoming plays an elimination game at Hepburn against Jersey Shore/GSV on Tuesday.

Owen Babb threw five innings to earn the win on the mound. He also led the team by going 2 for 3 with a double and two runs scored. Roman Meckbech went 2 for 4 and Jacob Luizza was 2 for 4. Montoursville was led by Mason Lowe (3 for 4, triple, three runs). Cullen Reed, Chase Scampone, Owen Kilpatrick and Christian Wood each had singles.

In the winners’ bracket final, Keystone defeated Loyalsock, 11-0, to advance to the District 12 championship game. The loss drops Loyalsock into the elimination bracket for a game on Thursday. Loyalsock will face either East Lycoming or Jersey Shore/GSV.

The championship game in the 9-11 bracket will be played Friday at Volunteer Stadium.

In the losers’ bracket final of the District 12 minor softball tournament, Clinton cruised past Jersey Shore, 13-3, to setup a rematch against Williamsport Area in the championship game on Tuesday at Lycoming College. Clinton lost on Thursday to WALL, 17-2.


Montoursville 6, Hepburn Lycoming 2

Hepburn Lycoming 000 020 – 2 2 3

Montoursville 002 31x – 6 6 0

Cole Shirley, Issac Sparks(5) and James Naughton. Cy Heddings, Elijah Eck(4) and Bryce Parker. W: Heddings. L: Shirley.

Top Hepburn Lycoming hitters: James Naughton 1-3, BB, run; Nick Dincher 1-2, BB, 2 RBIs; Ethan Andrews HBP, BB; Zander Houser BB, run; Jacob Evelhair 2 HBP. Top Montoursville hitters: Elijah Eck 2-2, 2B, BB, run; Cy Heddings 2-3, 2B, RBI, run; Bryce Parker 2-3, run; Branson Fogelman 1-3, run; Liam Lucas RBI; Brent Crawford BB, RBI; Emerson Lehman BB, run; Noah Clayton, 2 RBIs, run.


East Lycoming 11,

Montoursville/Muncy 7

East Lycoming 411 104 — 11 9 2

Montoursville/Muncy 112 111 — 7 7 3

Owen Babb, Jamison Smith (6) and Hayden Denton. Mason Lowe, Rylan Miller (6), Colten Watson (6) and Kendyl Lucas. W: Babb. L: Lowe.

Top East Lycoming hitters: Bentley Byerly 1-5, run; Jameson Smith 1-4, 2B, 2 runs; Owen Babb 2-3, 2B, 2 runs; Lyle Huggler 1-2, run; Roman Meckbech 2-4, 2 runs; Everett Shaner 1-3, run; Jacob Luizza 2-4. Top Montoursville hitters: Mason Lowe 3-4, 3B, 3 runs; Cullen Reed 1-2, 2 BB, run; Chase Scampone 1-4; Owen Kilpatrick 1-2; Christian Wood 1-3, run.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today