Plenty of racing left at area speedways

Gerard McIntyre beat the field and Mother Nature to claim his first career Port Royal Speedway feature victory Saturday night in 410 sprint car competition. He got $4,000 for his win, Lucas Wolfe earned the $1.000 Warrior Award via random draw, while 14th-place finisher Ryan Linder earned the $500 hard charger after starting 24th on the grid.

The super late model and PA Sprint Series 305 sprint car portion of the night’s event were lost as a result of significant rain showers that hit the Speedway after only four laps of the super late model A-main. The 305 feature event will be made up in two weekends when the series returns to the track on Aug. 20, while the super late model feature will be made up on the Friday opener for the late model Dirt Series Rumble by the River on Aug. 26.

At Lincoln Speedway Freddie Rahmer picked up his fifth win of the season after starting ninth.

Lapped traffic came into play with four laps to go. Cory Haas got to the inside of Rahmer as they worked through lapped traffic but Rahmer held the lead. Rahmer pulled a wheelie at the flagstand as the white flag waved allowing Haas to take one last stab at the win. Rahmer crossed the line .528 seconds ahead of Haas. Chase Dietz was third and Matt Campbell finished fourth. Dylan Norris completed the top five. Cameron Smith was victorious for the second time in 358 sprint car rookie campaign. Richie Hitzler won in Xcel 600 modifieds action.

This Saturday Lincoln Speedway is back in action with Motosports Night featuring 410 sprints, Central PA Legends and wingless sportsman. Racing starts at 7:30 p.m. with pit gates open at 5 p.m. and grandstands open at 5:30 p.m.

Over at BAPS Speedway Chase Gutshall was on point throughout the 25-lap main event, storming from sixth to the lead to capture his second victory of the season.

“I didn’t think we would be standing here, because we’ve been struggling for so long,” Gutshall said. “I can’t thank my dad enough. A couple of weeks ago, we wrecked, had the car stripped Sunday, and sent it to Sledgecraft Monday. My dad took the motor over to Gary Hammaker and got another oil pan put in and fitted for this power steering.”

In the late model main event, Travis Mease chased down Matt Murphy to claim the victory in the 20-lap affair. The Gene Latta Ford Central PA Legends division was also on the card. It was another entertaining main event, with Chris Transeau scoring the win in the 15-lap sprint. Rick Eckert of York powered to his first Selinsgrove Speedway victory of the season in Saturday’s 30-lap Renegades of Dirt Late Model-sanctioned race.

Eckert’s ninth career win at the track and fourth overall this season was worth $4,000.

Joey Amantea of Mount Pocono scored his first career sprint car win in the 20-lap USAC East Coast wingless 360 sprint car race, while Jake Jones of Hunlock Creek won his sixth race of the year in the 15-lap roadrunner championship.

Selinsgrove Speedway returns to racing action at 7:30 p.m. on Saturday with a four-division show of super late models, PASS/IMCA 305 sprint cars, limited late models and roadrunners. Gates will open at 5 p.m.

The Knoxville Nationals are underway this week and the run down will be available next week of all the PA Posse cars that make the trek to Iowa.


Sprint car results: 1. Gerard McIntyre Jr; 2. Jeff Halligan; 3. Blane Heimbach; 4. Danny Dietrich; 5. Mike Walter II.


410 sprint feature (30 laps): 1. Freddie Rahmer ($4,000); 2. Cory Haas; 3. Chase Dietz; 4. Matt Campbell; 5. Dylan Norris. 358 sprint feature finish (20 laps): 1. Cameron Smith ($1,100); 2. Travis Scott; 3. Steve Owings; 4. Cody Fletcher; 5. Chris Frank. 600 Xcel modifieds feature finish (20 laps): 1. Richie Hitzler; 2. Tyler Bartik; 3. Austin Daniels; 4. Geoffrey Sutotn; 5. Kenny Harris.


BAPS Super Sportsman feature (25 laps): 1. Chase Gutshall [6]; 2. Kenny Edkin [10]; 3. Troy Rhome [4]; 4. Tony Jackson [11]; 5. Steve Fannasy. Late models feature (20 laps): 1. Travis Mease [8]; 2. Matt Murphy [3]; 3. Randy Stoudt [9]; 4. Derrick Mease [11]; 5. Wayne Pfeil [2].

Extreme stocks feature (20 laps): 1. Sam Rial [10]; 2. Patrick McClane [9]; 3. Bob Scott [2]; 4. Hunter Fulton [6]; 5. Donnie Broderick [7]. Gene Latta Ford Central PA Legends feature (15 laps): 1. Chris Transeau [6]; 2. Travis McClelland [11]; 3. Bill Diehl [5]; 4. Scott Musselman [2]; 5. Mike Racine [8].


Super late models, 19 entires (30-lap A-main): 1. Rick Eckert; 2. Jeff Rine; 3. Dylan Yoder; 4. Bryan Bernheisel; 5. Jim Bernheisel. USAC East Wingless Sprints, 13 entries (25-lap A-main): 1. Joey Amantea; 2. Briggs Danner; 3. Mike Thompson; 4. Steven Drevicki; 5. Ed Aikin. Roadrunners, 13 entries (15-lap A Main): 1. Jake Jones; 2. Keith Bissinger; 3. Tom Underwood; 4. Matt Ney; 5. Levi Vial.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today