A brief history of Konkle Memorial Library
The origin of the Konkle Memorial Library, in Montoursville, began with a bequest of property at 300 Broad St. by Joan S. Konkle.
It was intended as an “enduring memorial” to her husband, Dr. William Bastian Konkle, who had passed away in 1928, according to historical accounts.
A group of local women who were part of a book club incorporated the Montoursville Public Library Association in 1944 and the library officially opened in April that year with a collection of 1,000 books.
The property on Broad Street was sold in 1953 and the library moved to 448 Jordan Ave.
Because of its new location across from the elementary school, the library served both the community and the school children.
The library then moved to its current location at the corner of Broad and Washington streets in a building which had previously served as the Peoples Bank.
A fund-raising campaign brought in $35,000 to complete the renovations to the building in order to make it compatible with its new use, the historical account detailed.
In 1983, the Konkle Library became part of the Lycoming County Library System, which meant that all of its materials were available to anyone in the system.
In 1998, renovations to the facility included new shelving, a new circulation desk, additional computers and internet access.
An addition to the Children’s Wing was completed in 2005.
The library currently houses 24,000 catalogued items.