Mussare re-elected president of prison board

The Lycoming County Prison Board voted to re-elect Tony Mussare as its president during its regular monthly meeting Friday.

Mussare, a Lycoming County Commissioner, serves on the board along with other county officials including Commissioners Rick Mirabito and Scott Metzger.

County Sheriff Mark Lusk was elected board vice president and District Attorney Ryan Gardner as secretary.

In personnel action, the board agreed to hire the following people as correctional officers: Dustin Mitchley, Trevor Campbell, Nathaniel Kendall, Devin Bailey and Tiffany Bartholomew.

It was reported that average daily numbers for county prisoners were down overall in 2019 from the previous year.

For 2018, the average daily population for both male and female inmates in the prison and Pre-Release Centers was 351.84 compared to 342.10 in 2019, according to figures released by the board.

For male prisoners, the average daily numbers dropped from 292.22 in 2018 to 286.49 in 2019.

The female population decreased from 59.62 to 55.61.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)