Jersey Shore school introduces budget; city pays levee cost

Locally elected and appointed officials voted on the following matters in the past week:


• The House voted 420-0 for a resolution calling for any final report in special counsel Robert Mueller’s Russia investigation to be made public. U.S. Rep. Glenn Thompson, R-Howard voted yes.


• The House voted unanimously for a bill that gives the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission the power to demand the return of state and local records of historial value that have been improperly removed from government. Voting yes was state Rep. Garth Everett, R-Muncy. State Rep. Jeff Wheeland, R-Loyalsock Township did not vote.


• City Council voted 6-0 to pay $61,400 to Wood, for engineering costs related to the levee recertification. Voting were Randall J. Allison, Bonnie Katz, Derek Slaughter, Don Noviello and Joel Henderson. Council President Jonathan Williamson was absent.

• Jersey Shore Borough Council voted 8-0 to approve a $16,280 contract with Peters Consultants for professional engineering services for the Meadow Alley reconstruction project. Voting yes were Michael Zellers, Marguerite Dyroff, Kenneth Scheesley, Matthew Haag, Sean Simcox, Barb Schmouder, and Paul Garrett.

School District

• Jersey Shore Area School District introduced the 2019-2020 budget for first reading. It reflected expenditures totaling $42,924,073 and with revenue totals expected to be at $41,711,841, the budget is not a balanced one. The board did not announce a tax hike at this time.

• East Lycoming School District gave final approval to the calendar for the 2019/2020 school year. Members present were: Richard Michael, Richard Bradley, Donna Gavitt, Erica Hubler, Michael Mamrak, Karen Berger, Lisa McClintock, Robert Heckrote and Kristy Creasy.

• The Loyalsock Township School District approved an agreement with Penn College for students in the district to participate in a pre-apprenticeship program in manufacturing at the college. Members present were: Edward H. Ade Jr., David P. Hornberger, Robert D. Leidhecker, John B. Raymond, Carolyn R. Strickland, Melvin E. Wetzel and Paul R. Young. Absent: Charles W. Edmonds and Christina Kiessling.