LHU Foundation, alumni association announce newly-elected leadership

LOCK HAVEN — The Lock Haven University Foundation and Lock Haven University Alumni Association recently announced newly-elected volunteer board leadership effective July 1, the start of the 2022-23 fiscal year.

Jennifer Riter ’96 is the new chair of the LHU Foundation board of directors. A member of the board since 2016, Riter is the first female chair in the foundation’s 39-year history. She replaces Steve Tasselli ’78, who served as chair from July 1, 2020, until June 30, 2022.

“It is a humbling honor to be recognized as the first woman to chair the Lock Haven University Foundation’s board of directors,” Riter said. “I am eager to represent my alma mater, and the LHU Foundation, as we work diligently to make the high-quality education students at The Haven are proud to receive accessible to as many more students as possible.”

Joining Riter in leadership positions are Bobby Maguire (vice chair), Jeff Parker (treasurer), and Jim Berkebile ’59 (secretary). Riter and Parker are newly elected to their roles; Maguire and Berkebile were re-elected as vice chair, and secretary — positions each member has held since 2020.

The foundation board is comprised of 20 alumni, community members, and local business people who collectively form three committees: advancement, finance, and governance. Newly elected committee chairpersons are Frank Condino ’72 (advancement), Joe Koehler ’84 (governance), and Stan Allen ’87 (finance).

The Lock Haven University Alumni Association board of directors also announced new leadership effective July 1. Amee Lewis Vance is the board’s new president.

Vance, a 1975 Lock Haven State College alumna, takes over for Dan Cruttenden ’73, who served as president for the last two years.

Joining Vance in elected leadership roles are retired U.S. Army Col. John Newcomer ’84 (vice president), Kyle Losch ’15 — entering his second term as treasurer — and Matt Henry ’18 (secretary).

The LHU Alumni Association’s board of directors consists of 20 alumni from the 1970s to the 2010s. The board is divided into four committees: legacy, development, campus events, and relationships. Each committee works closely with LHU Foundation staff to assist in fundraising, marketing, relationship-building, and event planning initiatives that support Commonwealth University-Lock Haven.

“Dan (Cruttenden) did a phenomenal job presiding over our board as LHU went through the integration process,” Vance said. “I’m excited to continue the Alumni Association’s mission of preserving the legacy, history, and traditions of our beloved university, while also finding new ways to connect our more than 37,000 living alumni with students to enhance their Haven experience and ensure they’re achieving all of their academic and professional goals.”

“Serving and representing The Haven alumni family is truly an honor,” she added.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today