Impact fee to boost economy, despite $55 million dip in distribution

Lycoming County will receive $2.2 million in natural gas impact fees this year, according to the state Utility Commission.

More than $146 million in 2020 gas impact fees will be distributed across the state, according to Nils Hagen-Frederiksen, a commission spokesman.

The county had 932 eligible wells, he said.

The city of Williamsport is getting $309,377, according to the commission.

From a regional perspective, the impact fee distribution will deliver more than $27.8 million to area county and local governments this year, said state Sen. Gene Yaw, R-Loyalsock Township, who is chairman of the Senate Environmental Resources and Energy Committee.

“The natural gas industry has been a great partner in creating new jobs and opportunities in our communities, and this week’s announcement is another reminder of the importance of this industry in Pennsylvania,” Yaw said.

Impact fees fund environmental projects in communities throughout the state, Yaw said.

Other municipalities and townships also will receive various distribution amounts as follows: Anthony Township, $40,367; Armstrong Township, $11,131; Bastress Township, $3,776; Brady Township, $3,636; Brown Township, $6,243; Cascade Township, $144,860; Clinton Township, $42,452, Cogan House Township, $485,810, Cummings Township, $555,400, DuBoistown Borough, $11,787; Eldred Township, $82,190; Fairfield Township, $37,320; Franklin Township, $86,317; Gamble Township, $188,947; Hepburn Township, $67,856; Hughesville Borough, $22,663; Jackson Township, $69,912; Jersey Shore Borough, $45,882; Jordan Township, $37,100; Lewis Township, $242,273; Limestone Township, $16,758; Loyalsock Township, $138,868; McHenry Township, $125,704; McIntyre Township, $81,472; McNett Township, $58,909; Mifflin Township, $72,038; Mill Creek Township, $20,771; Montgomery Borough, $7,849; Montoursville Borough, $54,193; Moreland Township, $60,808; Muncy Borough, $12,560; Muncy Township, $23,379; Muncy Creek Township, $50,377; Nippenose Township, $13,277; Old Lycoming Township, $68,031; Penn Township, $179,642; Piatt Township, $22,184; Picture Rocks Borough, $9,001; Plunketts Creek Township, $18,786 ; Porter Township, $24,006; Salladsburg Borough, $2,346; Shrewsbury Township, $18,294; South Williamsport Borough, $66,596; Susquehanna Township, $5,478; Upper Fairfield Township, $87,659; Washington Township, $17,119; Watson Township, $37,310; Wolf Township, $52,151 and Woodward Township, 30,294.

Bradford County will receive, which is $3.3 million; Tioga County, $1.8 million and Clinton County, $222,272, according to the utility commission Website.

Beyond cash sent directly to local governments, revenue from impact fees fund a wide variety of projects across the state, from environmental initiatives to affordable housing and local community and recreation projects in the areas affected by drilling.

Additionally, $51 million will be transferred to the Marcellus Legacy Fund, which provides financial support for environmental, highway, water and sewer projects, rehabilitation of greenways and other projects throughout the state.

The utility commission has forwarded the information to the Department of Treasury for payment and expects checks to be distributed in early July, Hagen-Frederiksen said.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today