PA Speedweek Series comes to close

After ten straight days of racing– nine completed after a wash out at BAPS — the 32nd annual PA Speedweek Series came to a close on Sunday night with a thrilling pass by Danny Dietrich of Gettysburg with two laps to race in the 30-lap Opperman-Bogar-Heintzelman Memorial at Selinsgrove Speedway.

Dietrich drove by Brent Marks of Myerstown, who was going for his fifth win in a row, and sixth in the nine-race series, in traffic to score the $10,099 victory. It was Dietrich’s first win in the series and at the track this season at the wheel of the No. 48.

Marks clinched his first career PA Speedweek championship, finishing Sunday night’s race just 1.3 seconds behind Dietrich at the checkered flag. He was also the night’s fast qualifier with a lap time of 16.933.

Marks earned the $5,000 10-for -10 bonus as he was the only driver to finish in the top 10 in all the series races. In fact, Marks finished in the top three positions in every event. Kenny Heffner of Watsontown secured the lead at the halfway point of the 20-lap PASS/IMCA 305 sprint car feature and went on to score his first career win at Selinsgrove.

At Hidden Valley Speedway in Clearfield, Dustin DeMattia of Montville, Ohio won the Renegades of Dirt Modified feature win in the series first ever visit to the bullring.

Other new winners included Brandon DeBrakeleer of Mill Village, who got his first semi-late feature win; Kevin Criswell of Wellsburg, West Virginia who won the four cylinder main; and Luke Hoffner of Turbotville, who won the four cylinder second chance. Repeat winners included Brockway’s Fuzzy Fields in the street stocks and Tim Steis of St. Mary’s in the pure stocks.

Coming up this week is the mid-season championships for the semi lates, small block modifieds, street stocks, pure stocks and four cylinders.

At Clinton County Speedway they had a two-race weekend Ryan Kissinger won the Friday night preliminary event of a two-day show claiming the inaugural Founders’ Cup honoring speedway founders Del Shank and Teddy Reitz. Tommy Dawson won the pro stocks, Timmy Bittner won the 270s micros, JT Ferry won the 600 micros and Blake Snyder won the four cylinders.

On Saturday a record 36 sprint cars signed in for RaceSaver Sprint Car competition during the third annual Nittany 40. Johnny Smith set the fast time in flight A and Dominic Melair set the fast time in flight B. Austin Greenland won the B-Main. Garrett Bard made a pass on lap 39 in turns one and two, but the lap was not scored complete as a two car incident brought out the caution.


410 sprint cars (23 entries, 30-lap A-Main): 1. Danny Dietrich ($10,099); 2. Brent Marks; 3. Justin Peck; 4. Michael Walter II: 5. Rico Abreu. 305 sprint cars (27 entries, 20-lap A-Main): 1. Kenny Heffner; 2. Tyler Snook; 3. Josh Spicer; 4. Austin Reed; 5. Ken Duke Jr.


Sprint car feature (30 laps): 1. Brent Marks; 2. Anthony Macri; 3. Rico Abreu; 4. Dylan Norris; 5. Danny Dietrich.


Renegades of Dirt Modifieds: 1. Dustin DeMattia, Montville, Ohio; 2. Michael Altobeli Jr.; 3. Alyssa Rowe; 4. Mason Lobb; 5. Braidy Westfall. 358 semi-late models: 1. Brandon DeBrakeleer, Mill Village; 2. BJ Hudson; 3. Gary Little; 4. Justin Owens; 5. Eric Lucas. Street stocks: 1. Fuzzy Fields, Brockway; 2. Jim Bloom, 3. Allen Lamb, 4. Cregen Brady, 5. Chad Rougeux. Pure stocks: 1.Tim Steis, St Mary’s; 2. Brad Benton; 3. Andrew Wallace; 4. Bob Holt; 5. Noah Bloom. Four cylinders: 1. Kevin Criswell, Wellsburg, West Virginia; 2. Jim Ogden; 3. Noah Swank; 4. Tanner Odgen; 5. Brandon Hoffner. Four cylinders, second chance: 1. Luke Hoffner, Turbotville; 2. Eric Luzier; 3. Tim Raup; 4. Ryan Lippert; 5. Dustin Miller.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today