Williamsport crowns 6 champs, wins District 4/9 team title

Williamsport crowned six champions and advanced seven wrestlers to regionals as it captured the team title at the District 4/9 Class AAA tournament in Clearfield on Saturday.

The Millionaires’ Cael Nasdeo (106 pounds), Luke Segraves (113), Carter Weaver (126), Braden Bower (132), Riley Bower (145) and Roman Morrone (152) all captured district championships. Devin Harris finished second at 120 pounds to earn a spot in next week’s Northwest Regional tournament.

Williamsport outpaced Clearfield, 177.5-152, to take home the team title. No other team had more than two champions, and the Millionaires’ seven regional qualifiers were the most in the tournament.

Nasdeo opened the tournament with a first-period fall in 1 minute, 32 seconds in the 106-pound semifinals before posting a 15-0 technical fall in 3:35 in the 106 final.

Segraves needed just 45 seconds for a fall in the semifinals and then followed it with a fall in 1:35 over Selinsgrove’s Ryan Gavason to capture his first district title.

Weaver scored a fall in 41 seconds in the 126-pound semifinals and followed with a 13-1 major decision over DuBois’ Brendan Orr to win his second consecutive district title.

Braden Bower won his first district championship since 2019 by beating the Nos. 1 and 2 seeds at 132 pounds. He needed just 1:01 for a fall in the quarterfinals before beating Bradford’s Brett Thompson, 5-1, in the semifinals. The eighth-ranked Bower beat 14th-ranked Aiden Gaugler of Selinsgrove, 9-2, in the final.

At 145 pounds, Riley Bower won by fall in the semifinals in 1:34 before winning the final when Clearfield’s Karson Kline defaulted after just one second. It was the third consecutive district title for Bower.

Morrone captured his first career district championship with a pair of falls. He needed just 2:24 to get past Selinsgrove’s Josiah Foss in the semifinals and then won his title with a fall over Punxsutawney’s Brady Smith in 3:42 in the final.

Harris defeated Selinsgrove’s Leo Martinez, 5-1, in the semifinals to guarantee his spot at regionals before dropping a 7-2 decision in the final.

Charles Crews was the Millionaires’ lone other placewinner, taking third at 285 pounds. He dropped a 5-4 decision to fourth-ranked Oliver Billotte in the semifinals, but won the third-place match with a fall in 4 minutes.


Championship finals

106: Cael Nasdeo, Williamsport, tech. fall Evan Davis, Clearfield, 15-0, 3:35.

113: Luke Segraves, Williamsport, pinned Ryan Gavason, Selinsgrove, 1:35.

120: Davey Aughenbaugh, DuBois, dec. Devin Harris, Williamsport, 7-2.

126: Carter Weaver, Williamsport, maj. dec. Brendan Orr, DuBois, 13-1.

132: Braden Bower, Williamsport, dec. Aiden Gaugler, Selinsgrove, 9-2.

138: Chandler Ho, DuBois, tech. fall Luke Freeland, Clearfield, 18-3, 5:24.

145: Riley Bower, Williamsport, won by default Karson Kline, Clearfield, :01.

152: Roman Morrone, Williamsport, pinned Brady Smith, Punxsutawney, 3:42.

160: Coy Bastian, Selinsgrove, maj. dec. Ryan Gildersleeve, DuBois, 15-5.

172: Nick Crisp, St. Mary’s, maj. dec. Carter Chamberlain, Clearfield, 12-3.

189: Waylon Wehler, St. Mary’s, dec. Hayden Kovalick, Clearfield, 7-6.

215: Mark McGonigal, Clearfield, maj. dec. Ryan Aument, Selinsgrove, 8-0.

285: Nate Schon, Selinsgrove, pinned Oliver Billotte, Clearfield, 3:34.

Tru second place

(Winner advances to Northwest Regional tournament)

106: Evan Davis, Clearfield, pinned Alex Reed, Shikellamy: 25.

113: Ryan Gavason, Selinsgrove, dec. Devan Poe, Bradford, 11-5.

132: Aidan Gaugler, Selinsgrove, dec. Brett Thompson, Bradford, 3-0.

145: Karson Kline, Clearfield, dec. Garrett Paradis, Selinsgrove, 3-0.

172: Carter Chamberlain, Clearfield, pinned Gage Wolfe, Shikellamy, 2:31.

189: Steven Miller, Selinsgrove, pinned Hayden Kovalick, Clearfield, 3:54.

215: Ryan Aument, Selinsgrove, dec. Zach Gallagher, DuBois, 5-2.

Third-place consolations

106: Alex Reed, Shikellamy, pinned Dysen Gould, 2:10.

126: Nolan Barr, Clearfield, pinned Trent Turner, Selinsgrove, :44.

132: Brett Thompson, Bradford, dec. Andrew Wolfganger, St Mary’s, 3-0.

138: Tristan Dilley, St. Mary’s, pinned Sylvan Martin, :54.

145: Garrett Paradis, Selinsgrove, dec. Caleb Yoder, Shikellamy, 7-0.

152: Coltyn Sempko, Shikellamy, dec. Josiah Foss, Selinsgrove, 8-6.

160: Drew Balestrini, Shikellamy, pinned Wyatt Reorda, Clearfield, 1:36.

172: Gage Wolfe, Shikellamy, dec. Ryan White, DuBois, 4:06.

189: Steven Miller, Selinsgrove, pinned Josh Miller, Punxsutawney, 2:48.

215: Zach Gallagher, DuBois, dec. Jeremy Garthwaite, St. Mary’s, 9-5.

285: Charles Crews, Williamsport, pinned Blake VanKirk, Shikellamy, 4:00.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today